Things Aren’t Fine, Fine Bros

Today we are talking about the internet, more specifically youtube. Before I share my actual opinion, I am going to try to present as much information on this subject as possible in this one post for you to see. Since trying to find all this information in one place is like herding cats.

After that is all done, than I will share my opinion on this matter. Grab your popcorn, get something to drink ,and get comfortable.

All right, let us begin!

fine_bros

If you don’t know who The Fine Bros are, they created a bunch of react video series on youtube. Kids react, Elders react, youtubers react, teens react,etc. It has always been pretty popular.

Well, not anymore.

This past weekend they uploaded a video to youtube (which they have since taken off their channel). This guy below does a reaction video to it and has the whole video in this video as a result. He is well spoken and really cool to listen to btw,  one of the few good things to come out of this fiasco.

As a result of this announcement, many people were outraged and expressed there feelings on youtube, some were pretty calm like this guy. Others used satire.

Some youtubers were just downright angry. This next two videos uses curses and flips the bird, so be warned.


But, this guy had a great idea in how to respond.

#UnSubFineBros

Let internet justice begin.

Now when they started out they had about 14,100,000 subscribers.

Screen Shot 2016-02-02 at 1.23.08 PM

Thanks Vidstats

Now I believe they uploaded this video Saturday (please correct me, if I am wrong I will change and add the disclaimer). By Sunday word had spread like wildfire. And people were outraged and people began unsubbing like their life depended on it.

Look at that, that is just from the past few days! That last one, still won’t be fully updated until tomorrow.

On monday, the brothers tried to do damage control, but it was basically a sorry not sorry kind of video. They also have taken that video down as well. And sadly most of the reposting of said videos are spoofs/parodies making fun of them and don’t have the whole dialogue. If you can find it, please comment and I’ll add it because as of 3:10 pm I have had little success.

Well, here is the problem and this guy makes all the good points.

Here is the youtuber he is referring to

Even the reddit thread for The Fine Bros is still down

Screen Shot 2016-02-02 at 1.51.52 PMScreen Shot 2016-02-02 at 1.51.47 PM

Well even after the apology, they still lost subscribers and with new info surfacing like the fact they had a hand in taken down other reaction videos and were upset with Buzzfeed and Ellen  because of this video.

Here is the buzzfeed part

buzzfeed

 

Here is the Ellen part

ellen1

Even posting on their facebook page (which this is also gone btw, so this is the only image people have been able to find).

fine bro ellen

Even though reaction like videos have existed a long time, this is different, and not a step by step copy.

To top this off there is another problem that has happened in the past, but only really beginning to surface. The Fine Bros, despite accusing other people stealing their ideas, have stolen ideas from others.

surprise

Now, this is getting super long and I hate leaving you on hanging like this, but I need to take a quick break.

boo.gif

Yes, I know. I’m sorry. My lymie brain is starting to spin just writing this all out in one sitting.

Hey, now you have no excuse to not do the things you need to do or you can restock on snacks and drinks before continuing watch the chaos that is occurring on the internet.

Don’t worry it Part 2 will be out before the end of today.

(Update 5:56 PM Here is Part 2!)

In the meantime I’m curious about your thoughts so far. Are you subscribed to them?  Will you remain so?

Let me know in the comments below.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Want to keep updated? Keep in touch with me at the following:

 

3 thoughts on “Things Aren’t Fine, Fine Bros

  1. Pingback: Things Aren’t Fine, Fine Bros Part II | My Renaissance

  2. Pingback: My Final Thoughts on The Fine Bros (Part III) | My Renaissance

  3. John Guillen

    I actually hadn’t heard anything about this because I only go to their channel randomly. I’m not anxiously awaiting their videos. And I don’t follow them on any other social media. So I watched the full 15 minute video that included their announcement you included in your post and I checked Twitter. The reaction (no pun intended) has been pretty negative. I unsubscribed because I live YouTube exactly how it is. Creators creating their version of different formats. Thanks for this.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

