Comforting Fall

Despite all the craziness I have talked about on this blog lately here and here, I still find fall comforting.

When I was younger I wouldn’t look to fall as a time of excitement, for me it would be a time of dread. It was the end of summer, no more free time being lazy at home, and I would go back to school. An experience that I rarely enjoyed when I was younger.

Now that I am older that has all changed. Despite still being in college and dreading going to school at times, I find comfort in it.

Why do I find comfort in it:

1.) Cool Weather

photo

It is a relief to be blessed with cool weather after a summer of horrid humidity. I have lived in Tennessee for about 10 years and I am still not used to it.

2.) Hot Drinks

photo 1

Yes, this is my cute Raccoon Mug.

You can drink hot drinks anytime of the year, but it just isn’t the same as having hot drinks in the fall and winter.  I can start drinking hot tea, have a pumpkin spice latte, and not feel like I’m burning up as soon as I go outside.

3.) Sweaters

photo 2

I get to wear sweaters again.  I just find it a comfort to bundle up in a big baggy sweater that is too large on me. It gives me another excuse to dress comfortably. Pair it with leggings and boots and I am a happy individual.

4.) Bonfires

10258057_10202694140383939_6047611070206871318_n

My Photo

I prefer bonfires during the colder months. Many people enjoy them in the summer, here in the south I think that is the worst time to have them simply because its too hot and humid out.

5.) It feels peaceful

Summer to me always felt fast paced. I must go to the beach, I must go hang out with friends, I must, I must…

doallthethings

With Fall though, despite having to go back to school and getting back to a regular work schedule with no vacation in sight, I still find it oddly relaxing to have no pressure to try to fit everything in before classes start, since classes have already started.

6.) Looking at the Sky

1024px-Starry_Night_Over_the_Rhone

Starry Night Over the Rhone by Vincent Van Gogh

Thanks to the humidity I am not up for doing a lot outside in the summer. I hate that sticky feeling that comes with it. Even at night in the summer it feels sticky outside, in the fall though I can spend more time outside.

I love looking at the sky at night. I love to see all the stars. We are not in the middle of nowhere, but we are far away from the city where we can still have a pretty good view of the stars at night.

7.) It’s Almost the End of the Year

photo (1)

Whether it has been a good or bad year, I look forward to the end of the year. I just find it comforting in the fact that no matter what happens things will end. Whatever is happening right now will only continue on for amount of time.

For me Fall isn’t just about sweaters or pumpkin spice lattes, its about peace and comfort.

Have a Happy Fall!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Inspired by The Daily Post
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Spread the word. Share this blog with your family, friends, etc.

Leave a Reply

