What I Wish I Had Known Before I Went to High School

book open2

With being out of high school for more than 4 years now I have had a lot of time to look back on my life and what I did while I was in High School. I have learned a lot and there are many things that I would change looking back on it, since I can’t though I hope I can pass my knowledge and what I have learned onto you.

Academics 

  • Now is the time you will be preparing for College. I never thought about it like this, but it is true. When I entered high school this was far from my mind. All I was thinking about was “Thank God I’m out of middle school” & “Shit. I’m still around those people, but at least there are more people here that I like”
  • Start doing well in your classes now! This is a must, get a good head start on your classes. The reason for this as you reach your Senior year you will feel senioritis more and more. Sometimes you will begin to feel it in your Sophomore year.
  • Take more Honors Classes & and try some AP Classes. Taking more Honors classes can help prepare you for the challenge of college and with taking AP Classes depending on how well you do on the AP test, you can test out of a class and you won’t have to be in college as long.
  • Take a Dual Enrollment Class. This is where you can take classes and get college credit! Depending on the program you have sometimes you can take them at the college, at your high school, or its done at both your college and high school.
  • Talk with your academic counselor, a lot. If you are having any problems, talk to them. Whether you are struggling in classes or dealing with senioritis. They also know about different programs in the area. For example in my area there is this program called Governors School, an intensive program for talented and gifted high school students. There are topics ranging from the arts to agricultural to science.
  • Do the homework and study. Even if it seems easy and you understand still do the reading and study. Who knows you can either test out of classes or you can still learn that information for classes you will have to take in college.
  • Your Grades Don’t define you, but they are important. One F does not mean you fail at life. It just means you need to talk to your teacher, not make the same mistakes and work smarter.
  • Talk to your Teachers. Whether it is help with classes or you want help when it comes to trying to find guidance in the field of you interest, you teachers may be aware of opportunities that could boost your resume.

Extra Curricular Activities

  • Try Anything! Whether you join the robotics club or you want to start your own club, do it! I know it may be scary, but seriously just have the mentality of screw these people, I won’t really see them in  years. You deserve to have fun and to try new things. It also looks really good for college and it can help figure out what path you want to take.
  • Try out for sports (besides Cheerleading & Dance) at least once. I remember when I was younger I enjoyed basketball. As I got older I really enjoyed soccer and flag football. I wish I had tried out at least once instead of feeling that because I wasn’t popular or the typical individual I shouldn’t try out.
  • Do stuff outside of school. Try to get involved in extra curricular activities outside of school. Not only will you be opening yourself to more opportunities, you won’t be held back the cliques and the social order of high school that will exist.

Social Life

  • Forget the haters. You will have a lot of people hate you throughout your high school career. Just think of it this way, they are spending their time thinking about you. You must be that fabulous or they have a boring life. Either way
  • You don’t need to be in a relationship. While it is conviant when there are school dances, besides that it just adds another level of drama. If you want to date, fine. If you want to be in a relationship, fine. Just remember the odds of that relationship lasting beyond high school is slim. Also you may not be ready for a relationship and please remember you don’t need someone to complete you.
  • Try to find some real friends. I know this one will probably be the hardest out of all of them. Don’t be friends with someone just because of …. I talk to maybe one or two people from high school an the majority of people that I did hang out with- I had nothing in common with them, except I was an outcast.
  • Drama free is the way to be. If you want some Drama in you life watch reality TV, otherwise get rid of the drama. I know it’s harder because you go to the same school and you could possibly be in the same group, but look at it this way. You are already stressing out about classes, you don’t need other people creating drama or involving you in drama.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Spread the word. Share this blog with your family, friends, etc.

Leave a Reply

