I Don’t Need to Be Perfect

being perfect

 

This past year I have been working really hard on improving myself. Between going on medication, going to therapy, and constantly challenging myself I realized that no matter how hard I work, no matter what I do I won’t be perfect.

On top of being most likely OCD & ADD I know that I have a problem with being a perfectionist. I can’t tell you how I feel every time I look at my blog. Every time I look at it there are so many things I see wrong with it and it drives me nuts to say the least.

Whether it came to my grades, my room, or just trying to being an adult I would constantly criticize myself and try to see how I can be better.

It was difficult at times and still can be. Before I went on medication I used to wish on a daily basis that things would just go perfectly. I would get upset with myself and berate myself if things didn’t turn out the way I wish I had planned.

Since going on medication and going to therapy I have begun to realize on an emotional level (I already knew this logically) that I don’t need to be perfect. I don’t have to live my life perfectly, or act like my life is perfect. The more I think about it, the more I wonder why should I have to be perfect? Better yet, why do people in society act like their life is perfect?

Are we afraid to show that life didn’t go as planned? Are we afraid to show that out lives aren’t that great? Are we afraid to show that we make mistakes?

It seems that social media has intensified this desire to show that we have a perfect life, but that isn’t necessary people.

I will be the first to admit my problems. Due to having trouble with being a perfectionist I think its actually important that not only do I admit my flaws to myself, but to show them to the world. The reasoning for this is because I know that I can’t be the only one who deals with being a perfectionist, so if I share my experiences, maybe it will help others.

I know why people put on the facade. They are afraid of being judge. They are afraid of people making fun of them, laughing at them, and people are afraid of coming across as a failure.

While there is nothing wrong with wanting to better yourself, you shouldn’t try to be perfect, because it won’t happen.

While it has taken me a long time to reach this point (and I know I will have moments where I forget), I know I don’t need to be perfect.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Spread the word. Share this blog with your family, friends, etc.

Leave a Reply

