Just Want to Let You Know

ut campus

(Note this is more of a fictitious piece)

~By Christine Vanek

Walking back from class I came across an envelope on the ground. Thinking someone probably lost it I picked it up. I was about to put it in my purse, when I realized it had a name on it. My name.

I look around around me, I only see other students walking by; all focused on where they were going. I went over the to sit down in the grass, took my backpack off, and decided to open the envelope.

It was a letter to me.

Dear Christine,

I know it has been hard for you. You are still in college I’m guessing. You want to quit. I understand completely.

Let me tell you something. Don’t quit. I have seen your future. I can’t tell you what will happen in your future, but I can tell you that yes your dreams will come true.

Stop doubting yourself Christine. I know you are scared and I know you have a fear of failure. You are capable of accomplishing anything that you put your mind to, in fact you will accomplish so much this year. I am not saying this to pressure you, I am saying this to reassure you. Keep working hard, stay smart, and take care of yourself.

You are on the right path.

I know you feel this degree of yours may be useless to your dreams. I can tell you, you have no idea the opportunity that will come up in the next few months. Keep a lookout for it. Be open, be aware.

I am writing this to you because I too received this letter at this same time 1 year ago.

Thanks to a certain Doctor I have been reassured about my future, your future.  You will still face hardships. You will still face pain. And you will still face challenges.

Despite all of this, you will be happy. You will succeed.

Relax. Take care of yourself.

Sincerely,

The Doctor & Christine 🙂

 

Folding the letter back up, I look around and in the distant I see under the bridge that leads to the Humanities building, a blue telephone box fading away until it was no longer there.

Smiling to myself I stood up, looked at the letter in my hand, and walked to the library to study.

I have a happy future to look forward to.

“Thank you both”

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Inspired by the Writing 101 Challenge
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Spread the word. Share this blog with your family, friends, etc.

 

3 thoughts on “Just Want to Let You Know

  1. Redg Camarse

    LOVED THIS. I thought it was going to be some freaky ghost thing but The Doctor??? *incoherent fangirl squeals*

    And I love the letter! I’m now in my sixth year in college and I’m so unmotivated to finish my thesis and internship because I feel like it isn’t what I really want to do. I feel like the letter was for me too. 😛

    Reply

Leave a Reply

