Hello Old Friend

rhode island 1

For me, it is not the house that completely matters, for me  it is the people and the location.

For Me, I wish to live by the Sea.

When I was 11 years old a month before my 12th birthday I had to leave Middletown, RI for Tennessee.

I can tell you I have been dreaming of that little state since I left.

I miss waking up every morning, being able to see Narragansett Bay from my parents bedroom, and smelling the salty sea air every time I walked out the front door. I miss hearing the seagulls as they are flying towards the clouds and the sunset. I miss hearing the waves crashing on the rocks and the bridge in the distant that connected us to the tiny island and mainland.  I miss being around military and navy brats (I use this as a term of endearment, I am proud to call myself a navy brat).  I miss being so close to the ocean seeing it as I cross  it felt like I was on the edge of the world and anything was possible.

rhode island 3

The Red Dot is where I used to live. Yeah, it was a cool area.

When I was 17 I went to the Outerbanks, NC for a family reunion. I can tell you the first thing I did was rush into the huge beach house and look out of the back porch as I saw the waves hitting the beach. I imediatly said Hello Old Friend. I got in that water and I loved every minute of it. I was heartbroken to have to leave the ocean once more.

map outerbanks

I think we stayed around Duck… I can’t remember though, it has been a while.

Photo Credit

I have been in a landlocked state for so long. Due to funds I am not capable of going back myself. It is a dream of mine. I eventually want to have a house of my own thyat is by the Ocean.

I want to be able to wake up every morning and look out my window and see the waves crashing on the shore, as the sun is rising from the waters, and hearing the seagulls sound in the distant. I want to smell that salty air as I head out of my bedroom and onto my private balcony, looking at the water.

One can dream.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Inspired by Writing 101 Challenge
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Spread the word. Share this blog with your family, friends, etc.

 

3 thoughts on “Hello Old Friend

Leave a Reply

