“As Time Goes By” I have Learned to “Let it Go” and Welcome Life with “Open Arms”

I thought of my 3 favorite songs and this title for this post came into my head.

Seriously though here are my 3 favorite songs:

my 3 favorite songs

#3.) Open Arms

Journey_Open_Arms_single_cover

I remember hearing this song with my boyfriend. I think we had an argument recently or we were going through some difficulty. I don’t know or remember.

While in the car on the way back to the dorm from the mall, he put this song on the radio for me and I hadn’t heard it before. I was genuinely surprised that he played this song for me. I

#2.) Let it Go. 

let it go again

 

Photo Credit

This song says it all. As someone with Depression, anxiety, (and potentially OCD); this song means a lot to me. I don’t have to be perfect. I don’t have to put on a show or a brave face. I can be me. I remember when I first saw a clip of this scene on youtube. I was crying and I had chills. Every time I sing this song, I still choke up during certain parts of it. I always feel pressure to be perfect, so this song is a nice reminder to me that I don’t have to be perfect.

#1.) As Time Goes By

MV5BNzc0MDkwNjI0NF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMTY1MjEyMDE@._V1_SY317_CR0,0,214,317_AL_

I first heard this song from the movie Sleepless in Seattle. This is one of my favorite love stories. I later heard this song once more when watching Casablanca. This movie I am not that big of a fan of, I like it I do, I just have a hard time with the main female character. Seriously instead of telling the guy the situation and save a lot of heartache on his part, she just runs off.

The last “story” that sealed the deal for this being my favorite song with Christopher (my boyfriend). After one night while it was raining out, but you could still see the moon (it was a full moon that night), we were driving around Chattanooga one night because I didn’t want to go back to my dorm. While driving around we came across a house that was for sale. It was the last house and at a dead end. White house, white porch, white porch swing, white fence, small green law, and a white mailbox with green ivy painted around it. It was for sale and it was very charming. Chris decided that we get out and look at the house. We ran to the porch and looked out at the Tennessee River (had a great view of that and the mountains) and than he got out his iPhone and started playing As Time Goes By ( Rod Stewart & Queen Latifah version) I didn’t realize it was that song), he took my hand, held onto my waist, and we started dancing on the porch while it was raining with a full moon out.

I can’t make this up. It was a wonderful moment.

What are your favorite songs? Let me know in the comments below!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Inspired by Writing 101 Challenge
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Spread the word. Share this blog with your family, friends, etc.

Leave a Reply

