My Writing Projects for This Summer 2014

The Writing Cycle by Katherine Firth

The Writing Cycle
by Katherine Firth

Man, finals wiped me out. I actually had to go to the ER because it got that bad. I can tell you though I am happy and I am glad to be back to blogging.

I am very glad I get to be on a little break. Although I will be taking a course of two this summer, I have about 2 months off to recuperate in the meantime.

Upon realizing and coming to terms with the fact that I have a huge fear of failure (t also doesn’t help that I am a bit of a perfectionist, that is a story for another day). I have also realized something else, it has prevented me from doing the one thing I have always wanted to do- write and publish a novel.

No longer can I sit around, worry about what happens if I do write this story. No longer can I just sit on my butt and become anxious because the story I am writing didn’t come out perfect the first 3 times I wrote it. I must write it, I have to try. No longer can I be afraid.

I have to Let It Go!

I couldn’t resist 🙂

As a result of all of these realizations, I have decided on my 3 writing projects for this summer:

#3.) My Blog

This in itself is more of an ongoing, neverending project of mine. I love blogging and I won’t be stopping anytime soon. It has really helped me grow as a writer and also has helped me really face many of these issues I have already discussed. Also, I love the people I have talked with, reading other peoples experiences, and it has been a lot of fun.

#2.) My Harry Potter Fanfiction Story

I have had this idea since the 5th book came out. I was disappointed with how the series ended (ducks as potterhead throws shoe at me), it felt like there was something missing and there were lots of things unresolved. What started as fixing one book, eventually turned into an idea to rewrite the whole series. It won’t be just from Harry POV either. Id doubt I will finish all 7 stories in one summer, but I hope to finish the first one at least.

AND

#1.) Finish the First Draft of The First Book of A Series

I actually began this writing idea around NaNoWriMo last year and I never finished it. Life got in the way. Other people who partcipated in NaNoWriMo that I was friends with, really loved the idea and one of them couldn’t wait to read it. It will probably be Young Adult and no I won’t tell you about the plot. I hope to finish the first draft of the first book by the end of summer (I know the expectations seem high, but we shall see).

I am very excited about this and I am very excited to start!

Are you working on any writing projects? Are you thinking of starting one? Let me know in the comments below!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

One thought on “My Writing Projects for This Summer 2014

  1. pavanneh

    I am looking forward to reading your stories and keeping up with you. And that song “Let it go” goes through my head all the time. Especially if I am frustrated by something or a memory from my past comes up. I just sing “let it go” and it goes away..at least for now. It’s a great song.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

