Mental Health Awareness Month

mental health

Photo Credit

May is mental health awareness month.

I really feel that mental health isn’t taken as seriously as physical health. If I were to be honest, it still feels that someone can be stigmatized if they had health issues.

From my experience it seems to be worse if it is related to your mental health.

If we injure our leg due to sports, we can talk about going to our physical therapist without a problem.  Yet whether life injures me or my body has chemical issues causing me to be depressed or anxious if I talk about seeing my therapist people begin to feel uncomfortable or they avoid me like I have the plague.

mental-health-704x318

Photo Credit

Why is that?

Mental Health does not just affect an individual mentally, it can affect their physical health as well. It can cause they to be tired, hurting, nauseous, etc.

Why does it still seem taboo to talk about it?

People are still afraid to talk about their mental health. They are afraid of being judge, being looked at differently, or just being seen as weak.

I am not going to lie, I am scared to talk about my mental health. For me it is something I have struggled with since I was 11/12 years old. I don’t remember a day when I felt normal. I can’t tell you the many times that I have been called crazy just because I have depression and anxiety.

Why should I be judged for living mental health issues?

I plan on posting more about my battles with mental health this month. I am really afraid, but I am tired of having this topic be so stigmatized and people being so judgy about it.

Do you struggle with your mental health? What is your biggest struggle? Let me know in the comments below!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

2 thoughts on “Mental Health Awareness Month

  1. pavanneh

    People will judge you because they don’t understand. You are fighting the good fight. There are more times than not that I feel I am in an uneasy truce, never quite winning. I think the reason that mental health is not funded as well as physical health is that it is so much harder to “cure” people with mental health issues. A broken bone heals much faster than a broken psyche. There is so little known about the brain and how it works. There are still too many questions about what is more important, nature or nurture, genetics, personality and does how we are raised really affect the outcome of our development. That seems like a no brainer “yes” to me. “Duh!!”. There will be difficult days, but there will be wonderful days too. And this is your blog and your opportunity to express what is important and vital to you. The heck with the haters.

    Reply
  2. Pingback: A Confession: I Live with Depression & Anxiety |

Leave a Reply

