A Confession: A Fear of Failure

failure-copy

This word brings more fear and dread than anything else.

Yes, I have a fear of failure. I know why I have a fear of failure. I know the root of it, I understand it. Thanks to many hours of crying, self-reflection, and seeing a therapist (Yes, I have one).

The only problem is trying to fix it.

I can tell you that for the longest time, I didn’t realize that I had a fear of failure. I thought I was just driven and an overly concerned individual when it comes to the idea of success.

Aren’t we all?

Over the past few months I have come to realize that my fear of failure and the fear of messing up is starting to inhibit my life. I have trouble turning in assignments in on time. I have trouble studying without the fear of not knowing the material and feeling like a failure just because I don’t know the material.

Trust me, I know how ridiculous this sounds.

I understand that from a logical point of view that this is silly. I know logically that just because I mess up, make mistakes; it does not define me as a person.

Trying telling that emotional part of me though. Not as easy for it to get through.

I am not sure how this process will be. I am only just beginning. I do know that I can’t keep living like this, it is affecting everything I am doing: my schooling, my work, my dreams, my goals, etc.

One shouldn’t have to live in fear of failure.

I really hope that I will be able to overcome this fear and tell it talk to the hand for I am to busy to be afraid of it. It won’t be easy, it may take a long time. I am already making progress by starting on facing it.

Do you have a fear of failure? What are you afraid of failing at the most? Let me know in the comments below!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

5 thoughts on “A Confession: A Fear of Failure

  1. pavanneh

    I have a fear of failure too. I fear failing my family and failing at my obligations as a wife and mother. I am afraid of being my “mother”. So I can understand what you are saying. I have had trouble with schoolwork before because I was afraid to hand it in. I was so worried it wouldn’t be good enough. It is important to just take that deep breath in and say to yourself “It is good enough because I tried.” How many people fail at life because they just don’t try. You are doing great at blogging, you seem like you have your head screwed on right. So, those are successes, not failures. The ONLY way to overcome the fear of failure is by DOING!

    As long as it is nothing illegal or dangerous to yourself that is. There are reasons human beings have the emotion of fear. To keep us alive. Just in case you want to extreme skateboard, sky dive without a parachute, that kind of thing.

    Reply
    1. myrenaissance Post author

      True, thank you for the encouragement. I always appreciate kind words. Its nice to hear that from other people.

      I do understand fear is a necessary thing, I am just frustrated because I can see my fear is starting to paralyze me. Especially when it comes to certain areas of my life (like college).

      Thank you again for your words of encouragement. 🙂

      Reply
      1. pavanneh

        Anytime you need some help I will do my best to be there. I really do understand. There are some self hypnosis tapes that have helped me as well. You can find them on amazon pretty cheap for download.

  2. Pingback: Confidence & Failure |

Leave a Reply

