How I Met My Beast, My Love, My Christopher

beauty-and-the-beast-disneyI remember when I was a little girl I was obsessed with Beauty and the Beast. Well if I am honest with myself, I am still obsessed with it.

I have always identified with belle. She reads books, she felt like an outcast within her own community. With this being said I always wanted to find my own beast. The one thing that always struck me was that when I first saw the ending of Beauty and the Beast I was struck with uncertainty by what I saw. I had imagined the prince to look different, but I did like his eyes.

Beautyandthebeast_5134

Over the years I had seriously dated a few men, went on a few dates with others, and flirted with many. There was variation, but my type was generally blonde hair, blue eyes, and slightly taller than me. All of those encounters would end eventually leaving me filled with disappointment and irritation.

Than I met Christopher.

I had met Christopher only 6-7 months after I got out of a long term relationship. I had been dating that individual for a year and a few months, had dated him before an knew him since the 6th grade. I was ready to be on my own. I was tired of being in a relationship and not looking forward to one.

I had plans. I wanted to date around. I wanted to enjoy being single and free. I was ready to kiss strangers and flirt with men. I was ready to party, to live, and be free. I was 19, single, and ready to mingle.

Christopher kind of ruined some of those plans.

I had met him my second year I was at the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga. I met him through my roommate. I don’t fully remember our first encounter- I was too focused on leaving for dinner at the time, but he remembered me and he said he was blown away by the presence I had.

utc-faciemusimage

A day or two later my roommate was getting ready to head out and Christopher was picking up a bunch of friends and she was one of them.

While she was getting ready Christopher showed and needed to be let in. In my pajamas that my grandma had made me. I went to the door and let him in. He said thanks. When we got back inside we hung out in the kitchen and just talked for 5 minutes. I had a feeling he was attracted to me, but I ignored that feeling. I don’t remember what we talked about, but apparently I had left an impression. He was cute and awkward, but than again I wasn’t looking either.

Later on I found out from my roommate that he was interested in me. I was not surprised, but I still was at the same time. Anytime a guy shows interest in me it still takes me by surprise.

She said if I would be interested in meeting up with him. I said sure, but I would like someone I knew there since I didn’t know him. I didn’t mention that I was nervous since I was still recovering from a past abusive relationship. I didn’t mention that this guy was the tallest guy I had ever dated and the first guy I felt intimidated by, ever.

I decided to go not because I was head over heels, but simply for the reason why not. I had said I would start dating. He seemed nice, funny, and he was cute. I would give it a shot.

On a Sunday my roommate, Christopher and I all went to Mellow Mushroom in downtown Chattanooga. We all ordered pizza and Christopher and I just talked. My roommate said I was acting like this the first date I had ever been on. Heck I remember my first date, I was never this nervous.

6210_522142435779_5968073_n

We talked about everything and we tried to include my roommate in the conversation, we didn’t want to have her feel like a third wheel. We talked about everything. We broke all the rules about what to not take about and I didn’t care that I was breaking all the rules. For me I was testing this guy. Every girl does it, most don’t admit it.

We talked about religion, politics, our old schools, college, everything. I felt so nervous, but at the same time I felt such ease. He was different I could read him, couldn’t pin down his personality. He was a mystery.

After that kind of date I had a great time and I really enjoyed. We continued talking over the week and we soon went on our first date. After a month of seeing each other we officially became a couple. I will be posting about our first week getting to know each other and our official first date.

Now we have been dating for over 4 1/2 years and it has been one awesome crazy ride. I won’t lie in the beginning I constantly questioned if I did the right thing. Am I with the right person? Am I settling? Am I repeating the same mistakes again? Do I really want this?

Transformation-Scene-beauty-and-the-beast-17161945-720-480

I can tell you after over 4 1/2 years I made the right decision that day. Like I wasn’t sure about the Beast after I saw him transform, I wasn’t sure about Christopher.

What helped me change my mind was a few things:

  1. I realized his eyes were the same color.
  2. Like the Beast was not what I was expecting, neither was Christopher.
  3. Belle wasn’t expecting the Beast to look and be him either. She doubted too.
  4. Sometimes God doesn’t give what you expect, he gives you something he knows will be the best thing (in this case person) for you. And he did.

There were other signs as well. I had a list of things that were important to me to find in a man. Well the weirdest part is, I know that Christopher fit that list, but I can’t remember all that was on that list. It is like once I found the person that fit the list, the list disappeared from my memory. I know weird.

tumblr_ma6rbiSMZi1rwqvcuo6_1280

For me I know I found my Beast. He is not perfect, he is awkward and clumsy at times. He is the sweetest person and very kind. Sometimes you find love unexpectedly. I know I did.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Post inspired by The Daily Post

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Like My Facebook Page !
Follow Me On Instagram!
Follow Me On Twitter!
I’m On Tumblr!

11 thoughts on “How I Met My Beast, My Love, My Christopher

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Born to Be With You | Incidents of a Dysfunctional Spraffer

  2. Pingback: Yearning for The One : a misguided human quest? Daily Prompt | ALIEN AURA'S BLOG: IT'LL BLOW YOUR MIND!

  3. Pingback: My Soul Mate: Daily Prompt | ALIEN AURA'S BLOG: IT'LL BLOW YOUR MIND!

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Born to Be With You | My Atheist Blog

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Born to Be With You | Nola Roots, Texas Heart

  6. Pingback: Born to Be With You | Alexia Jones

  7. Pingback: Welcome Back! | Views Splash!

  8. Pingback: NaPoWriMo – Poem / Poetry – “The Ice Maiden” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  9. Pingback: “As Time Goes By” I have Learned to “Let it Go” and Welcome Life with “Open Arms” |

  10. Pingback: My 5 Favorite Disney Songs |

Leave a Reply

