7 thoughts on “A Confession: I Tend to Feel Like an Afterthought

  1. Jessica Turnbo

    I love you and Miss you!!!! Love reading your blogs!! and Talking Now that I have internet again we can skype or facetime. Hopefully will be getting an Iphone or Ipad in the future.

    Reply
  2. CaliBelle

    I can definitely relate! Many of the same things you mentioned ring true for me as well. Especially the part about the best friend losing contact. I was even the same age as you when it happened. Only difference was she was the one who moved away. Anyhow, I’m 31 and I am still experiencing many moments of feeling forgotten or an afterthought. I’m still searching for a way to work past it. I actually found your article by Googling “afterthought.” I wish I had some advice to give you, but unfortunately I do not. But sometimes it just helps to know you’re not the only one.

    Reply
    1. myrenaissance Post author

      It is okay. I just wanted to share my thoughts and feelings. It will probably take a while for me to overcome it. Thank your words. Hope you have a good day.

      Reply
    2. Quinn

      I just saw this when I Googled why do I feel like an afterthought, ever sentenced sounded like it was coming straight from my own heart with the exception of moving to Tennessee and I switched from catholic school to public, I’m 24 myself and I feel this way all the time, I don’t feel like I am special to anyone so reading this really hit home

      Reply
  3. Kittybones

    This breaks my heart, because I’ve felt this way for a long time, & I wish it upon no one. Ever since I was 15. I got very sick for a long time, a lot of things changed, & I slowly lost every single one of my friends. I’m 27 now, & I still struggle with all of the feelings you mentioned. I, too, found you via Google: “feeling like an afterthought”, I don’t know what I was hoping to find.

    Reply
  4. Shell

    guilty as well, I googled always the afterthought and found you. What sucks about being the living breathing afterthought, is the things that I do for everyone, my loved ones, family, friends. But for today, right now, Im hear because of family. I am always the afterthought to them, and it saddens me to the poitn of true dispair. I dont hear from those close to me, let alone the ones that are not, even with Facebook. I literally live less than a mile from one, and I see them dole out holiday stuff for her friends, family, but I get nothing, not even a Happy whatever. I do things for this family member and a few others too. Honestly I dont feel like they are using me, I just feel that they dont think of me, in that terms or they just dont care. Then I start to wonder if maybe its me, Im the problem, IM the unlikable one, and Im just too dumb to know it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

