Why I Watch the Superbowl (even though I Rarely Watch Football or Sports in General)?

Super-Bowl-2014-Prop-Wagers-012714L

This weekend is Superbowl Weekend!!!!

Are you excited? Are you ready? Can you handle the EXCITEMENT?!?!

I really don’t watch sports that often. In fact, It is pretty rare when I do watch sports.   I am interested in many things, but out of all the things that I am interested in, the thing lowest on my list of interests is sports. It’s not that I don’t like sports, for me I just can’t get into it. It’s not for lack of trying either. I have read about sports. I try to follow sports teams that I am interested in, but it doesn’t last long.

I have gone to football, basketball, baseball, and even hockey games. I don’t obsessively follow any teams. I am a fan of the Tennessee Vols and the Knoxville Catholic Irish. I think the only reason for that is because I attended Catholic and I am currently at UT. I have gone to a couple of football games here and I have really enjoyed myself. Although usually when there is a flag on the field or when there are fouls, I usually don’t understand what happened or why. All the plays look the same to me.

______________________________________________________________

Random Fact about Myself!

 When I was little I loved the Dallas Cowboys, but only because I thought their cheerleaders were so pretty and I wanted to be like them. I liked their self confidence and I thought they were cool.

______________________________________________________________

Also my family isn’t that obsessed with sports. My father ran, my mother danced, I dance(d), did cheerleading, & ran, and my brother plays baseball. My mother is a Penn State fan (it scares me a little sometime) and I also have a great uncle who is into baseball and loves the Yankees. Although we have some athleticism in my family, we really didn’t grow up watching ESPN and going to a lot of sports games.

Despite all this every year we watch the Superbowl. I really thought it was weird at first, but over the years I have looked forward to watching the Superbowl.

4 Reasons why I watch the Superbowl:

  1. Everyone Else is watching it. Why not? Seriously though, there is no reason for me to not watch it and in this case I can hang out with my family or friends, whoever and watch the Superbowl.
  2. Good food to Eat. I like good food. Most times while watching the superbowl there will be nachos and cheese, pizza rolls, wings, etc. I love food. I have another excuse to eat all of this and not get weird looks. Yah for food!
  3. The Energy. I usually love the energy that comes with watching sports with a bunch of people. It makes the experience fun and enjoyable. Granted some people become scary, but I really do enjoy the people the get into the game.And My Favorite Part…
  4. The Commercials. This is my favorite part of the Superbowl. I love how creative they can be, I’m hoping though they will be less sexist this year. Women do watch the superbowl too.

If you want to learn more about the superbowl click here, this guide is great if you are clueless about all the stats and the major players for this years superbowl.

Want to know who I am cheering for? Read this post!

Are you going to be watching the Superbowl? What are you going to be doing for the Superbowl? Let me know in the comment section!

2 thoughts on “Why I Watch the Superbowl (even though I Rarely Watch Football or Sports in General)?

  1. Pingback: Why I Am Cheering For the Broncos | My Renaissance Blog

  2. Pingback: Why I Watch the Superbowl - Dallas Cowboys Sports News

Leave a Reply

