Movie Review: Saving Mr. Banks

Saving-Mr.-Banks-Poster

I had been wanting to see this for months, but I was very hesitant at the same time because I knew that P.L. Travers was not happy with how Disney made the movie. I was nervous that I was going to be bittersweet. The movie however exceeded my expectations.

This is a movie about the making of the movie Mary Poppins. During the movie we see an author who is deemed difficult to work with because she wants her story done right. I perfectly understand that she would want the story done correctly, I too wish there more movie adaptations  that were more faithful to the book. It is a rare thing when I do like the movie as much as the book, even rarer if I like the movie more than the book. And if I was an author, I would probably be difficult to work.

I was concerned that she would be made into a villain, simply because she wouldn’t allow Walt and the Sherman brother do what he wished, but I was really glad we got to learn more about her childhood. I have a strong desire not to not only to read all of the Mary Poppins books, but I also have a desire to read more about her life.

I really love how they paralleled between what she wrote in her books and what happened in her life. I have never read any of her biographies, but I really want to know.

This is the kind of movie that I would watch again, but it would be a while before I watch it.  It’s not bad, it’s just emotionally draining.

Overall I give this movie a 4 out of 5 stars. 4 stars

My opinion may change once I read more about P.L. Travers and her life.

Have you see the movie? What did you think of it?

Leave a Reply

