My 3 favorite Animated Non-Disney Movies

Although I grew up on Disney, I really enjoyed non Disney movies as well, although at the time I didn’t realize they weren’t Disney. Like many other kids I thought all cartoons= Disney.  I know I am not the only one.

Here are my top 3 Animated Non-Disney Movies

# 3 Anastasia

Anastasia-1997-movie-poster

Follows the story of… Anastasia. I really enjoyed this and I enjoyed the music. She wasn’t a favorite of mine, but I still enjoyed the movie a great deal.

On a side not every time I look at the image and see her making that weird expression with her mouth I laugh. I don’t know why, it just seems funny to me.

Why I love this movie:

  1. It is basically historical fiction which I love.
  2. She went from being a Princess to living in an orphanage and just having her whole world turned upside down. Love how crazy that is. ‘
  3. Once Upon A December. I love this song.
  4. The Blue Dress.

#2 The Swan Princess

Swan_princess_(1994)

She isn’t my favorite Princess, but I do enjoy the fact that she tries her hardest (when she is a swan) to find her way back to her home and family. I do like the fact that she takes the initiative to escape.

Why I love this Movie:

  1.  Talking Animals
  2. The fact that the love interests didn’t like each other at first. They both found each other annoying. I like that.
  3. The King and Queen in this movie are hilarious.

#1 Quest for Camelot

File:Quest for Camelot- Poster.jpg

I don’t know how many people have heard of this movie, but for me this was one of my favorite animated non Disney movies. I still have the stuffed two headed dragon from the movie.

First of all I thought it was so cool that Kayley (the main female character)  wanted to be a Knight instead of being a lady or princess. She wanted to be a Knight! She wanted to follow in her father’s footsteps and protect Camelot from the same evil forces that killed her father.

Along the way she meets a blind man by the name of Garrett. They don’t get along first, but in the end they learn more about each other, grow closer, and save Camelot.

Why I love this movie:

  1. A month before Mulan came out, this movie was out and it showed a girl who was not on a quest to find love, but to be a knight and to follow in her father’s footsteps. How awesome is that.
  2. The movie represents someone with a disability.
  3. 2 headed dragons
  4. A sassy bird companion

Have you seen any of these movies? What are your favorite Non Disney Animated movies?

Let me know in the comments below!

Leave a Reply

