TV Show Review: Sherlock

The Empty Hearse promotional poster.

Not the actual promotional poster. Fan made by anothermindpalace on tumblr as far as I am aware (if not please let me know) Click on image to follow to the site.

Series 3 Episode 1: The Empty Hearse

Written by: Mark Gatiss

Directed by: Jeremy Lovering

So the episode has been released, my initial emotion:

So I got ready, found live stream websites, got my Sherlock Shock kit together. I was in the zone. I even got to enjoy #gnomeolives #believeingnomeo #REICHEN-GNOME FALL #gnomeolock with the fandom on live stream.

photo 2 (2)

This shirt was designed by Winter Artwork. Click the image to go to their site.

Displaying photo 1.JPG

Sherlock Shock Kit

After watching this episode for the second time online tonight I am very happy to say that I have analyzed it enough.

There will be spoilers so if you don’t want to spoil it for yourself I understand, but I would advise not reading any further than.

Here are my thoughts as the episode is going along, they should be in order:

  • Moriarty in a wearing a mask. Love it.
  • Bungee jump, kind of obvious.
  • He just kissed Molly!
  •  Oh, it’s just Anderson talking to Lestrade.
  • Anderson said, “I believe in Sherlock Holmes.”
  • Yeah why didn’t the police intervene. Huh Lestrade. Want to answer that or have your boss answer that?
  • Poor John.
  • Is that Sherlock?
  • I’m pretty sure it is Sherlock.
  • Mycroft!
  • When Sherlock confronts Mycroft about Mycroft enjoying watching Sherlock being tortured, I saw a flash of Khan there.
  • No to the mustace, funny Sherlock.
  • The noise, the people. Mycroft sounds like an introvert to the extremem.
  • Mrs. Hudson, “It ages you.”
  • “So soon after Sherlock. What’s his name?
  • He’ll jump out of a cake. Making fun of mycroft and tribute to fans
  • OMG the Bow tie. Now he is stealing glasses, and he is drawing mustache.
  • OH God the french accent.
  • John didn’t notice! Sherlock’s face, hilarious.
  • Oh no. Is Sherlock going to ruin the proposal?
  • Yep he ruins the proposal.
  • Watson is angry. Very angry
  • He attacked Sherlock.
  • They got kicked out and oh look he is attacking Sherlock again.
  • Mary doesn’t like it.
  • He punched him in the nose.
  • Mary, “I like him:
  • “Dying to come back”
  • I thought Lestrade was going to hit and apparently so did Sherlock.
  • Moriarty and Sherlock are huddling- what the-
  • They are about to kiss…?
  • Okay its just another conspiracy theory
  • Anderson, “I found the empty hearse!”
  • All those hashtags, that is the fandom exploding.
  • “I don’t shave for Sherlock Holmes.” “You better out that on a t shirt.” Love it!
  • Oh my gosh they are playing Operation.
  • Mrs. Hudson you are awesome.
  • Deduction wars, how exciting.
  • Burn Mycroft!
  • Guy Fawkes. The 5th of November…? Is that the plot? OMG if it is!
  • I love how no one is doing anything about a man being burned alive. Stupid crowd, do something!
  • Oh my gosh people help Sherlock!
  • They were his parents!
  • They are so ordinary. Hey John just said what I said.
  • Not an Underground Network it’s an underground network
  • Are we going to find out about how he died.
  • I really have to go to the bathroom. Must wait.
  • Remember remember the 5th of November. Knew it!
  • Freaking out over train.
  • How is Sherlock going to stop this one.
  • Holy wow.
  • Oh my goodness.
  • I wasn’t in the bomb disposal, I was a bloody doctor. Makes me think of Star Trek.
  • Sherlock better not be playing him.
  • This better not be a trick.
  • Yah, we finally we find out how he did it.
  • Project Lazarus. Brilliant.
  • I’ve got lots of coats.
  • Anderson is losing it. Probably a representation of the fandom right now
  • He tricked him. That’s mean.
  • “You Cock!”
  • “That is so two years ago.”
  • Do you hear the people sing. Love Les Miserables, he is talking to Mycroft which means he is talking in the middle of the show. Oh gosh.
  • Sherlock assessed Molly’s fiance who looks a lot and dresses a lot lie Sherlock and didn’t criticize him at all.
  • All the Johnlock feels.
  • The hat.
  • I think I know who that man is.

As I am watching the show a second time:

I began asking a lot of questions and as a result I actually came up with a few really great theories that will be posted soon that involves Mary and the mystery man. Click here to read more on my thoughts.

  • I love Mary a lot. I really enjoyed her, but I still have a lot of questions about her.
  • All the Sherlock moments were great. I really did miss this.
  • After this episode Sherlock could easily paired with Molly and John even more so than before.
  • My mom’s theory was right about the fall. Really excited about that.
  • I felt annoyed and bad for Anderson.
  • How he faked his death, perfect and very like Sherlock. Nothing out of place.
  • The ending, leaving us wanting more.

I really enjoyed this episode. It was honestly perfect, my only wish was that we could learn more about Mary.

I give it 4 out of 5 stars. 4 stars

One thought on “TV Show Review: Sherlock

  1. Pingback: Online Quizzes: Which Harry Potter Character Are You? | My Renaissance Blog

Leave a Reply

