Movie Review: The Hobbit- The Desolation of Smaug

ImageSo last week I went with my boyfriend, my hallmate and some good friends to see The Hobbit:  The Desolation of Smaug. I went to the midnight release of it and I saw some people dressed up in costumes. I wasn’t in costume again, this was around finals time people, give a girl a break.

Seriously though, I wish I had a costume. Honestly, I should just make one ahead of time. My friends all dressed up, well save my hallmate and Christopher. He wore his The Hobbit All the Beards t-shirt. I loved it.

Anyway on to the movie. Since the whole story won’t be told until next December I am waiting out on doing a book movie comparison. I will however mention what I did and didn’t like about this movie. I will say this, there was very little I didn’t like.

*Spoilers*

Seriously though this movie has been out for a week and the book has been out for over 75 years.

~What I didn’t like:

  • The Spiders- I know a lot of people will think, but they were excellent. That is the reason why I did not like the spiders, they were very well done. I am deathly afraid of spiders and that is the only reason why I didn’t like it.
  • There wasn’t a lot of Radegast. I wish there had been more moments with him in this movie.
  • There wasn’t a lot of Beorn. I wish he had more screen time as well. I was really hoping we could see more of his place, since he is so large and everyone else is tiny compared to him.

~What I liked:

  • How Peter Jackson pulled off animals talking without making it look cartoonish- I really liked the fact that Peter Jackson used the ring as a way for Bilbo to hear the animals speak since you could hear them in the book.
  • That all the dwarves all love their little hobbit now. Seriously I am so happy they take him into account.
  • All the Thilbo moments. For those that don’t’ understand what Thilbo is, I will tell you those that there are fans that sometime ship characters together.(Ship definition- Short for romantic relationship, popularized in fanfiction circle) They imagine characters that could be together. There were so many moments, it was adorable! My two favorite was when Bilbo was trying to call Thorin back when he was trying to get into the mountain and Thorin came back got the key, all the while looking at Bilbo. The other part was when Thorin was directing everyone in his plan to try to get rid of the dragon, he touched his shoulder! Yeah, I know I’m sad. Don’t judge.
  • Tauriel. Elf- check. Woman- check. Is a fighter- check. Strong-check. Strong female elf not dolled up or dressed in a sexual manner- check!!!!! Yes, I know she is not mentioned in the books, still her character was based off the captain of the guard and get over yourself I am happy that we have a strong female elf that fights.
  • Tauriel and Kili- okay so I kept myself away from a lot of Hobbit sites cause I didn’t want to spoil this movie for myself like I usually do. I saw the Kili and Tauriel relationship and guess what I enjoyed it. Yes, I have read the book. Yes, I no it doesn’t happen. But I liked it for so many reasons I am writing a blog post just about their relationship and why it is more important than we believe.

~What I Loved!

  • We see Bilbo’s attachment to the ring grow. We see it when he doesn’t mention the ring to Gandalf and when he goes a little psycho on the baby spider who wasn’t doing anything to him.
  • All the Thilbo moments. I can’t help myself 🙂

~Favorite moment in the movie

My favorite scene in the movie would have to be when Bilbo is trying to find the Arkenstone and he is trying to be quiet. No matter how careful he is even Bilbo, with his hobbit feet, can stay quiet. There was so many gold coins. The part that still makes me laugh is when he realizes he is surrounded by the dragon and he realizes the dragon is starting to stir, he kneels on the ground and has this expression on his face comprised of “nope” and “well I’m screwed.”

No my art, belongs to http://mhyin.tumblr.com/ as far as I am aware. If this is does not belong to this individual please send me proof its yours.

Not my art, belongs to http://mhyin.tumblr.com/
as far as I am aware. If this is does not belong to this individual please send me proof its yours.

Overall I really enjoyed this movie and I will hold out judgement of comparing the movies to the book until all three movies are out.

I would have to give this movie 4 stars our of 5 stars. 4 stars

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

One thought on “Movie Review: The Hobbit- The Desolation of Smaug

  1. Pingback: The Hobbit’s Lady Problem | THE EXTREMIS REVIEW

Leave a Reply

