A Run In with A Modern Day Pharisee

Modern Day Pharisees. What is a modern day Pharisse? Who are they?  They are becoming more prominent and more of a problem. You will see them protesting outside of concerts, different movies, holidays or at funerals. There are different groups like this one or as well known as the Westboro Baptist Church.  They are here, they exist, and of course they are giving Christianity a very bad name.

I’m Catholic, I’m Christian. I believe in God, I love God, and yes, I do read the bible. I go to mass every Sunday (unless I’m sick) and I try to pray as often as possible.  I’m not perfect, I don’t know everything. But I can recognize right from wrong. These people- they are wrong.

Recently on the UT campus we have had for 2 days these Pharisees were on campus. Now while I was at UTC we had people reading from the bible, they were just talking about the end of the world, but as far as I was aware, they were not targeting, pointing, or yelling at specific people. They were just basically saying that we needed to all turn to God and love God.

Not everyone would like it, but hey, it wasn’t hateful.

This however was.

Image

The first day I was really angry. I mean, I felt my blood boiling, and I wanted to fight this jerk. He was being extremely hateful! He called all of us sinners and said that we are all children of the devil. He kept saying he was perfect, and without sin because everyday he consciously chose not to sin. He basically told someone of the Muslim faith that all Muslims were going to hell. He told women to stop wearing tight pants, put on long dresses , get back to the kitchen, and be subservient to men. He also told another women to be quiet and stop preaching bible verse at him, saying it wasn’t her place. That she needs to be quiet.

Yeah, I was angry.

I decided against saying anything or doing anything. With people like him, they won’t listen. They want a fight, they want an argument. Also I was angry, extremely angry.  Rather I set the alert to different groups on facebook that are UT orientated, that way students can avoid this hateful man. I got a lot of interesting comments back. One of them, made me think and stuck with me.

Image

The next day, they were back.  Most students ignored them, many were getting into arguments with them. I personally knew that arguments would be futile. They live for this stuff, they want people to argue with them. They want to make you angry. They honestly believe they are doing the Lord’s work when they are making you angry.

At first I wasn’t going to say anything or do anything. In fact I didn’t want to. Why?

I don’t like public speaking. I don’t like speaking in front of others, especially strangers. I hate confrontations and angry debates. I don’t like drawing attention to myself in this manner.  I prefer to be hidden by a computer screen and write on my blog about it. Even than, I don’t like talking about myself, I don’t like putting myself out there.

So, what changed my mind. Two people and a bible verse. The first was an African-american man. I don’t remember what promoted me to but I eventually shared the verse with him. He said that someone should share this with him and see what he says. It clicked at that moment. I should try to share it with him. I also noticed another individual. I believe they were  transgender  ( if they were not and they are reading this, I apologize, I don’t like to make assumptions, I’m just going of what Little I know) . I was struck by how sad and upset this individual seemed to be, the more that person sat there, the more I could feel her/himself (?) feeling smaller. That made me angry and upset. I asked the individual to please watch my backpack for me for a moment.

I went up to the pharisee, there was a little brick wall he was standing on. He was taking questions and I of course was originally thinking of asking him to read the verse out loud rather than read it myself. I raised my hand (how degraded I felt in that moment, as though I was a child asking for permission to be heard). He kept ignoring me, despite others who noticed my looks of help try to convince him to hear me out. At a certain point I realized I wasn’t going to be called on.

I did the one thing I was really afraid of doing, I got up on the brick wall right next to him. I was next to another girl, who had been confronting him and his hateful ways. She gave me a smile of encouragement and pride. It helped a lot. I don’t know her name, but thank you. It really helped me.

I had my phone with the verse on it ready to go. All I knew I was going to read this verse and hope that God would help me from here.  I wasn’t going to be rude and interrupt him, I let him finish and I began:

1 John 2:9 

“Whoever says he is in the light, yet hates his brother, is still in the darkness.”

That’s all I said and I looked at him during the last phrase. Some didn’t get it, others clapped at what I said. I saw the expression on his face, he was in shock. I don’t believe anyone has used that verse as a counter argument to him before. I actually felt the feelings of hatred and anger stop. He was dumbfounded.

He recovered quickly though from his moment of shock. He said that yes and I should stop being hateful towards him. I said to him, I don’t hate you. I love you, cause God asks me to. I feel sorry for you. For you are an angry man and you are spreading nothing but hate.

He begins to flip through his book. Asked me if I was a Christian and I said Yes and i sin all the time. I sin and I don’t judge others that sin. Why? For I am not perfect. Who am I to Judge?  While he is continuing to look, a nice individual offered me a whole plate of cookies for what I just said. I only took one. ( Thank you by the way if you know who you are, I appreciated the cookie). The Pharisee began quoting Leviticus and how I should be respectful toward men, saying how a women should be modest etc. He than looks at me, and I said to him and to the crowd (wearing my boot cut jeans, a sweatshirt, and a baseball cap) I look pretty modest, everything is covered. But even if I was not,even if I was wearing just a bra, I am a human being,  a child of God and I should still be treated with respect.

At this point he starts rambling on about how I shouldn’t be preaching to him. That I need to be quiet for he was the boss. I was about to open my mouth and he said “SILENCE WOMAN!” He got in my face, yelling this at me. If there is one way to really piss me off, is to use the phrase woman in a derogatory manner. I responded, “I will not be silenced you are not my boss. God is my boss. At the end of the day, he is the one I have to answer to, not you.” To sum up what he said next, he said women should be seen not heard. Women are and should be subservient to men.

I got off the wall at this point. I wasn’t done I was beginning. What about Mary, the prostitues, and the other women disciples, those that were with him at his death. They came to him to learn from him.

The Pharisee than has the gall to say yes they did, but they didn’t ask questions. I heard some people shouting. How do you know? Were you there?  I said (as far as I can remember), “What? How do you know? When you want to learn, when you thirst for knowledge you ask questions! Jesus would not have treated them with disrespect!”

He than tries to drown me out say we are all children of the devil. And I said No, we are made in the image and likeness of God. God is love. He loves us. He believes in us. He finds all of us worthy, even if we don’t believe it ourselves. Love is opposite of hate. The devil is hate and you sir are spewing hate. You are a disgrace and disgusting and I am done with you.

Needless to say I got my backpack and said wish the individual who had been watching my backpack a good day. I even ran into some fellow Catholics who gave ma a high five and hoped they would see me soon. I left and went to class. I had an exam to study for soon. I won’t lie, I felt on top of the world at this moment. I stood up to a hateful man, threw him off his game for a little bit and I hoped that maybe others would see that not all Christians are hateful. That God doesn’t hate them.

Some of the events of the speech may be slightly out of order and I’m paraphrasing for I know some of the things I said, but I don’t fully remember everything I said, just the major points. So please forgive and know I am not trying to come across better than I am. I’m going on memory at this point.

I’m not a scholar, a nun, a minister, or one who has studied the bible with a fine tooth comb. I’m just a young women who was angry at how he was spewing hate in Jesus’ name. It was honestly thanks to that one person on facebook that put up that quote. It was thanks to my mom who listened to me when I was seeing red and encouraged me not to confront him while angry. It was thanks to the fellow Catholics and Christians I had met, it was good to see people unite against such injustice. It was thanks to the man who said someone should share the phrase. It was thanks to that one individual with the sad eyes and the hurt written on their face. It was thanks to the girl that smiled at me with encouragement. Thanks to the guy who gave me the cookie, that was a nice gift.  And it was thanks to God that I did that, for I don’t like speaking in public and I don’t like confrontation of any kind.

Don’t let the Pharisees anger and hate seep into your heart. Rather feel sorry for them, for them to have so much hate in their heart they can do nothing but share it. That is something to be pitied indeed. Pray for them, that they becoming more loving in their ways. Also in the meantime don’t let them get away with what they are saying, stand up for people, use the bible. Use versus like the one posted, don’t shout angry words at them. Don’t provoke them. Just question what they say. Yes they will be angry no matter what, but your hands will be clean. You won’t look like you are the bad guy.  Rather than aggravating the situation with pointless shouting like “You suck”, “We hate you”, or “We love satan” just to get him all riled up.  And for goodness sakes, stay calm about it, don’t get angry. I know I did (again, not perfect), still it helps if you don’t get angry and show that anger to them. They want you to be angry. They feed off that anger. That is why I left before I became extremely angry.

Also please remember these Pharisees, they do not represent all Christians. They twist the bible so they can interpret it the way they want to and use it as an excuse to be hate filled individuals.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

7 thoughts on “A Run In with A Modern Day Pharisee

  1. Matthew Perri

    BOSS PAUL THE PHARISEE
    [sing it to the tune of “Rapture” by Blondie]

    I’m Boss Paul, the Pharisee
    My hypocrisy’s plain for the world to see
    I travel the land and travel the sea
    to make a convert who is just like ME

    “All have sinned” – we know that’s true
    but it never means ME – it only means YOU
    My sins are all theoretical
    “I’m the worst of sinners”- but don’t ask where

    To be more like Jesus is what some strive
    except for me – I’ve already arrived
    I’m the perfect model since the road to Damascus
    What were Paul’s sins? Don’t ask us!

    I justify everything I do
    If I testify about myself it MUST be true
    I’m the only man in all history
    whose testimony doesn’t need two or three

    If I did something it MUST be right
    Don’t use the Scripture to shed any light
    Don’t do as I say, do as I do
    and then you can be a Pharisee too.

    Reply
      1. Matthew Perri

        Hi atmyrenaissance,
        I’m glad you can relate to that.

        Jesus is our pattern – not Paul. Here is a parable in the form of a “Letter” to illustrate what happens if you follow the wrong pattern.

        Letter to the Angelenos
        Setting and context: Los Angeles California, Summer 2009. Due to lack of rain, there is a water shortage.

        The Mayor of Los Angeles, Antonio Villaraigosa, preached that homeowners should only water their lawns 2 days a week, not every day, in order to save water. But after that, a TV news crew camped out 24/7 at the mayor’s house, and found that the mayor’s own lawn was being watered every day. Now, it has come to the mayor’s attention that some other homeowners are also watering their lawns every day again.

        The mayor could write a letter to the homeowners of Los Angeles about the need for water rationing. If he decided to use the life of the Paul the Pharisee as his example, and he wanted to “be like Paul,” he could write the letter below, using Paul’s letter to the Galatians as his pattern.

        TEXT OF LETTER TO THE ANGELENOS

        Antonio Villaraigosa, Mayor of Los Angeles,
        To the homeowners of Los Angeles:

        I am astonished that you are so quickly deserting the 2-day-a-week plan for watering your lawns. Evidently some people are throwing you into confusion. But even if we or an angel from heaven should tell you to stop the 2-day-a-week water-rationing plan, let him be eternally condemned! As we have already said, so now I say again: If anybody should tell you a different message, let him be eternally condemned! Not even my personal staff members at City Hall are watering their own lawns every day.

        You foolish Angelenos! Who has bewitched you? Before your very eyes I clearly explained the need for water rationing. I fear for you, that somehow I have wasted my efforts on you. I plead with you, brothers, become like me, for I became like you. What has happened to all your joy? Have I now become your enemy by telling you the truth? How I wish I could be with you now and change my tone, because I am perplexed about you!

        Mark my words! I, Antonio Villaraigosa, tell you that if you water your lawn every day, your life in Los Angeles will be of no value at all. You have fallen away from grace. For in Los Angeles, neither a green lawn nor a brown lawn has any value. You were running a good race. Who cut in on you and kept you from obeying the 2-day-a-week water-rationing plan? A little yeast works through the whole batch of dough. The one who is throwing you into confusion will pay the penalty whoever he may be. As for those agitators, I wish they would go the whole way and turn their lawns into swamps!

        Those who want to make a good impression outwardly are trying to compel you to water your lawn every day. The only reason they do this is to avoid being persecuted for having a brown lawn. In Los Angeles, neither a green lawn nor a brown lawn means anything.

        Finally, let no one cause me trouble, for I’ve suffered a lot for the City of Los Angeles. Do as I say, not as I did. How dare you ask me why I was watering my own lawn every day?
        Regards,
        The Mayor of Los Angeles – Antonio Villaraigosa

  2. Matthew Perri

    That’s good. Here is more.

    Which is the most important?
    Jesus was asked twice, by two different men, the same basic question about which is the most important or greatest commandment in the Law. Here is how Jesus answered that question:

    #1
    “One of the teachers of the law… asked him [Jesus],
    ‘Of all the commandments, which is the most important?’

    “The most important one,” answered Jesus, “ is this: ‘Hear, of Israel, the Lord our God, the Lord is one. Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind and with all your strength.’ The second is this: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ There is no commandment greater than THESE.” [Mark 12:28-31, Deuteronomy 6:4-5, Leviticus 19:18]

    #2
    …an expert in the law, tested him [Jesus] with this question: ‘Teacher, which is the greatest commandment in the Law?’”

    Jesus replied: “’Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’ This is the first and greatest commandment. And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ All the Law and the Prophets hang on these TWO commandments.” [Matthew 22:36-40, Deuteronomy 6:5, Leviticus 19:18]

    But in contrast with Jesus, Paul the Pharisee didn’t know the greatest, most important, first commandment according to Jesus. Paul made up his own rule. Paul wrote:
    “The entire law is summed up in a SINGLE command: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’” [Galatians 5:14, Leviticus 19:18]

    And again, Paul wrote:
    “He who loves his fellowman has fulfilled the law. The commandments, “Do not commit adultery, Do not murder, Do not steal, Do not covet, and whatever other commandment there may be, are summed up in this ONE RULE: ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’ Love does no harm to its neighbor. Therefore love is the fulfillment of the law.” [Romans 13:8-10, Leviticus 19:18]

    Jesus said it’s TWO commandments, with the greatest, most important, first command to
    .1) first, love God with everything you’ve got, and
    .2) second, love people.
    Paul said no, it ONE commandment- to love people.

    This is very similar to The Beatles- “All you need is love. Love is all you need. Love, Love, Love.” (In other words, the second commandment, the love of man, without the love of God. Love as me, myself and I define love to be, and continuously redefined by sinful men.)

    In essence, it is also the same principle as what Eve did in the Garden of Eden, forgetting about the Tree of Life, which is the first tree in the middle of the Garden, and instead referring to the second tree as “the tree that is in the middle of the garden.” [Genesis 3:3 & 2:9 2:17, 3:24]

    Kind of like the Pharisees with Jesus, who were pushing the false idea that we can consider ONE commandment in the Law, alone in isolation, to be “the greatest commandment in the Law.”

    Or like today, false teachers in the Chrislam – Purpose Driven – Seeker Sensitive – Emergent – Liberal – Ecumenical – New Age – world church movement pushing the false idea that the ONE RULE is “Loving God and Neighbor together.”

    The Lord God Jesus the Jewish Messiah, Son of Yahweh the Most High God of Israel, said:
    “All the Law and the Prophets hang on these TWO commandments.”
    Not one. TWO.

    Sometimes, Paul was wrong. Jesus is always right. I’m following Jesus.

    Here are answers to 2 common objections:
    .a) What about the so-called “Golden Rule”?
    Jesus spoke the 3 chapters of the Sermon on the Mount, Matthew 5-7, including 7:12. Jesus didn’t make PART of this one verse out of context into “The Golden Rule” or “one rule.” Jesus did not use the term “Golden Rule,” it’s simply a tradition of men. The sentence begins with “So” in the NIV and Amplified Bibles, and “Therefore’ in the NASB and King James Bibles, which ties 7:12 to the previous sentences. So 7:12 cannot stand alone as One Commandment.

    .b) What about the so-called “Great Commission”?
    Jesus spoke the words recorded in Matthew 28:18-20, including “make disciples of all nations.” Jesus never used the term “Great Commission,” it’s simply a tradition of men. Yes I agree it’s a commandment given by Jesus, it’s not optional, and it applies to us today. We need to carry this out, with our own God-given abilities and talents, using the skills, and circumstances we have. But we don’t need to put words in the mouth of Jesus, we can let Jesus speak for himself, and we can listen to Him – and obey Him.

    Evangelism is part of the Second Commandment given by Jesus, to Love people. Evangelism is not the most important commandment, and it isn’t the entire Second Commandment. So if our priorities are “The Great Commission and the Great Commandment,” we have our priorities upside down and confused, and we are not listening to the voice of Jesus. Never mind what Paul said. Let’s listen to the voice of Jesus first, and get our priorities straight.

    The people who will protest most loudly against this truth are the modern “Pauls:” traveling evangelists, speakers, writers, abusive absentee mega-church pastors, Crusaders, and self-appointed “apostles” like Paul, who find it “profitable” to “be like Paul” rather than follow Jesus the Jewish Messiah.

    Reply
  3. Matthew Perri

    The Evangelical “Mexican Hat Dance”

    Sin is always specific, not general.
    The “Hat” is, “What were Paul’s sins?”

    The music starts, with a cheery blast of trumpets in a melody that is familiar to most North Americans- the “Mexican Hat Dance.” (The national dance of Mexico, taught in Mexican public schools since 1921, and officially named “El Jarabe Tapatio.”)

    A couple in rather elaborate traditional costumes begins the dance. The man throws his huge sombrero hat on the floor, and the couple dances around it, but never steps on the hat. (The “Hat” is, “what were Paul’s sins?”) Here are the basic steps- (there may be one or two other basic steps, but they are very similar to these.)

    What were Paul’s sins?

    STEP 1) Paul said; “I was once a blasphemer and a persecutor and a violent man.” [1 Timothy 1:13]
    (Response- Those were Saul’s sins, before Jesus called him. What were Paul’s sins as a Christian? )

    STEP 2) Paul said; “Christ Jesus came into the world to save sinners- of whom I am the worst.” [1 Timothy 1:15]
    (Response- Sin is alwasy specific. What were Paul’s specific sins as a Christian? )

    STEP 3) Paul said; “All have sinned and fall short of the glory of God.” [Romans 3:23]
    (Response- Again the same question; What were Paul’s specific sins as a Christian? )

    STEP 4) Paul said; “Not that I have already obtained all this, or have already been made perfect, but I press on to take hold of that for which Christ Jesus took hold of me. Brothers, I do not consider myself yet to have taken hold of it.” [Philippians 3:12-13]
    (Response- They say third time’s a charm. Same question; What were Paul’s specific sins as a Christian? )

    STEP 5) Paul said; “I do not understand what I do. For what I want to do I do not do, but what I hate I do. And if I do what I do not want to do, I agree that the law is good. As it is, it is no longer I myself who do it, but it is sin living in me. I know that nothing good lives in me, that is, in my sinful nature. For I have the desire to do what is good, but I cannot carry it out. For what I do is not the good I want to do; no, the evil I do not want to do- this I keep on doing.” [Romans 7:15-19]
    (Response- One more time! This is getting boring. Same question; Specifically, what were Paul’s specific sins as a Christian based on specific verses of the Bible? )

    STEP 6) LOOP- REPEAT steps 1 through 5, until your dance partner gives up, the audience gets bored, or the music stops. The rule is- never step on the “Hat,” just keep dancing around it.

    Reply
  4. Matthew Perri

    Many self-professed “Bible-believing Evangelicals” won’t listen to the words of Jesus, because they are brainwashed through reciting their “mantra” – “all scripture is God-breathed.”

    This “Evangelical Mantra” has been accepted by the collective subconscious mind of “The Evangelical Church” without thought, question, reflection, or even 2 witnesses from the Scripture itself. It’s based on a misinterpretation, out of context, of one verse in one letter written by one man, Paul the Pharisee, who was unfamiliar with the personal ministry and teaching of Jesus.

    But, “Once an idea has been accepted by your subconscious, it remains there and it governs your behavior until it is replaced or changed.” [ as a pastor named Bishop Dale C. Bronner observed in one of his sermons]

    (Definition from the American Heritage Dictionary.) Mantra (noun) (Hinduism.) A sacred formula believed to embody the divinity invoked and to possess magical power, used in prayer and incantation.

    When cult members repeat their mantra, it makes them deaf to the voice of God, unable to hear God. Instead, it puts their focus on their one “special man” above all others – his personality, words and teachings, character, life example, feelings, experience, intentions, mind, will, emotions, etc. Their cult leader is their hero – he is always right, could never be wrong about anything specific, and he must be obeyed in all things and never questioned. He will give himself a special title, write at least one special book, and claim special authority, with no need for a second witness to back him up.
    Here are 3 examples.

    .1) Fuhrer. The title of Adolf Hitler as the leader of the German Nazis, author of “Mein Kamph”. Mantra: “Heil Hitler.”

    .2) The self-appointed Prophet Muhammad, author of The Koran. Mantra: …..”and Muhammad is his prophet.”

    .3) Paul the Pharisee, the self-appointed Apostle to the Gentiles, whose 13 letters comprise one third of what, today, we call the “New Testament.” (The first, original “New Testament” was composed by the second century heretic Marcion, and he coined the term “New Testament.” His new “book” contained nothing except 10 of Paul’s letters and an abbreviated Gospel of Luke. There were no other “New Testament” books, and the Hebrew Scriptures were the “Old Testament” which was irrelevant, according to the heretic Marcion.) Mantra: “All Scripture is God-breathed….”

    I got my Masters Degree at Dallas Theological Seminary. I was attracted to the school because they put Paul’s mantra of “All Scripture is God-breathed” above everything else, and I wanted to heed Paul’s command and “Preach the Word” like Paul….

    This mantra is a misinterpretation out of context of 2 Timothy 3:16. It ignores the previous verse, 2 Timothy 3:15, which clearly indicates that Paul was NOT referring to his own letters when he wrote the words “All Scripture.”

    Paul was probably making reference to some of the Hebrew Scriptures, quite likely including the Law and the Prophets. We cannot be completely certain exactly which “Scriptures” Paul meant in “All Scripture”, and what Paul meant by “God-breathed.” Why can’t we be certain?

    Because we must establish a matter by the testimony of two or three witnesses, especially something as important as “What is the Word of God.” No one else in the pages of the Bible besides Paul ever said anything like “All Scripture is God-breathed”. And Paul only said it here, one time, in the middle of a personal letter.

    The Apostle Peter made reference to “Prophecy of Scripture,” not “All Scripture,” and no it’s not the same thing at all. Jesus never said anything like that. And no one, not even Paul, ever said that all Scripture was equal.

    I remember the general approach to the Bible at Dallas being that “every word in the 66 Books is the Word of God”….. and we should interpret it based on “the intended meaning of the author in the historical grammatical context.”

    That is the basic idea of the heavy-duty seminary language we were being trained in. It sounds so right, so intelligent, so professional, so “godly”….. but it is fundamentally flawed.

    When we look at Paul’s teachings and testimony about himself, (in his letters that make up 1/3 of the New Testament,) we should NOT immediately ask ourselves; “what did Paul say, what did Paul mean, and how does this apply to my life?” The fundamental question is NOT “what was in the mind of Paul?”

    Before any of that, the FIRST question to ask is; “does Paul agree with Jesus, who came to fulfill the Law and the Prophets?”

    Paul contradicted himself, and his teachings and testimony about himself don’t harmonize with the teachings of Jesus (or with Luke’s record of his life.) Let’s not waste our time with endless debates about “what Paul really meant” with his wacky teachings about “baptizing the dead” or “there is neither male nor female.” Paul was wrong. Jesus reminds us from The Law “at the beginning, the Creator made them male and female.” [Matthew 19:4, Genesis 1:27]

    As to the question of “whether the Bible is ALL truly Gods WORDS”…

    The underlying unspoken assumption is that “The Bible” (66 Books) was given to us by God as “one book” and it’s all “equal” in level of authority, priority, and importance. This comes from unconsciously believing Paul’s mantra, the “Evangelical Mantra”, that “All Scripture is God-breathed”, and falsely assuming Paul was referring to every word in the 66 Books of the Bible. Yet even here, not even Paul, not even once, ever said that “All Scripture is EQUAL” in authority, priority, and importance.

    No one in the pages of the Bible ever said or wrote that “all Scripture,” or “the Bible,” is “all truly God’s words”. Jesus never said anything like that, and Jesus did not see it that way. Jesus did not see even the Hebrew Scriptures, what we call the “Old Testament”, as a whole unit or book that was all equal or “all truly God’s words.” Jesus spoke of The Law, or The Law and the Prophets, holding these 2 sections of the Old Testament above the third, least important sections the “Writings.” And Jesus held the Psalms, the first book of the “Writings” section, above the other books in the “Writings” section in importance, since some parts of some Psalms are prophetic.

    Obviously, the New Testament Scriptures were not written when Jesus was walking the earth. But if we want to get closest to The Source, Jesus himself, it makes sense that we should look first to the eyewitness testimony of two of His appointed Apostles who walked with Him faithfully for over 3 years, Matthew & John. (Also to other eyewitness testimony, recorded by Mark and Luke.) This is more accurate, important, and authoritative than personal letters written by Paul the Pharisee, who never knew Jesus personally, had no part in His ministry, and had no eyewitness testimony.

    We should follow the Jesus of the Gospel writers. We should not follow the “jesus” of Paul the Pharisee or Muhammad or any other man, who had their own ideas of who “jesus” was and what He did.

    Reply
  5. Matthew Perri

    The message of The 11 (“The narrow gate”)

    “The eleven disciples went to Galilee”
    “Where Jesus had told them to go”
    They heard His voice and obeyed His will
    Despite uncertainty down below

    Jesus spoke to them at length
    He wasn’t really a Tweeter
    Only 3 of them wrote Scripture
    Matthew John and Peter

    “Feed my sheep” said Jesus, for though
    “Heaven and earth will pass away”
    I have the words of eternal life and
    “My words will never pass away”

    “Enter through the narrow gate”
    The voice of Jesus through the eleven
    Believe in Jesus “through their message”
    And “eat from the tree of life” in heaven

    Jesus commissioned the eleven
    With “everything I have commanded you”
    “Teaching THEM to obey” Jesus
    And “THEM” means me and you !

    “The command given by our Lord and Savior”
    Is not a Pharisee speaking alone
    It came rather “through your apostles”
    Matthew Peter and John

    If a Pharisee boasts proudly
    Those men added nothing to my message
    He doesn’t speak for Jesus
    His words are nothing more than garbage

    Bibliography
    All “quotes” in “quotation marks” are from the writings of the Apostles Matthew John and Peter in the Bible, mostly the “Red Letter” words of Jesus. [Matthew, John, Revelation, 2 Peter – NIV]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

